Albums of the Week

December 30, 2008 | Comments (0) | by Jake the Terrible Cubs Fan

Albums of the Week is a recurring feature at Pomp Culture where we will select three albums for our readers to check out. To listen to any of the Albums of the Week just click on the links provided in the sidebar. Live streams of each album can be played in iTunes, Winamp, or Windows Media Player. There is also a link to purchase music by the artists on Amazon, which I strongly encourage if you find something you like.

After taking a week off, we're back with three albums for your listening pleasure.

Something Old - "On Avery Island" by Neutral Milk Hotel
Released: 1996
Label: Merge
Genre: Indie Rock

Submitted by: Brant Brown

On Avery Island was Neutral Milk Hotel's first full-length album, released in early 1996. It is a record that will always be overshadowed by its much more successful and accessible counterpart, 1998's In an Aeroplane Over the Sea. Though the latter is a superior compilation, the former has a smattering of excellent songs that warrant a re-visit. Kicking off the album is the driving fuzzy bass on "Song Against Sex", a staple of the NMH sound. That bluster and exuberance is later surpassed by "Gardenhead/Leave Me Alone", a composition that deserves to be yelled only at the top of the lungs, preferably while shaking ones fists. A tolerance of horns and the accordion is recommended in order to appreciate the talents of the various NMH players, the most notable of which is their elusive mastermind, Jeff Mangum. Though the group would only release two albums under the Neutral Milk Hotel monicker, they were able to breed enough of a dedicated fanbase to assure that these songs will not quickly be forgotten.

Tracks to stay tuned in for: Naomi, Gardenhead/Leave Me Alone, Song Against Sex.

Something New - "Volume One" by She & Him
Released: 2008
Label: Merge
Genre: Indie Pop

Submitted by: Brant Brown

This debut album from actress Zooey Deschanel and musician Matt Ward may seem like some cheap novelty at face value. These songs, and her voice, are absolutely legitimate. The minimalist instrumental stylings bring Deschanel's harmonies to the forefront. The reception to this album has been strong, so we should be receiving more from the duo on the near future.

Tracks to stay tuned in for: Why Do You Let Me Stay Here, This is Not a Test, Sweet Darlin'.

Something Different - "The Midnight Organ Fight" by Frightened Rabbit
Released: 2008
Label: Fat Cat
Genre: Indie Pop

Submitted by: Dave Thomas

This album flips back and forth between an indie-pop experiment and sort of a folky foundation. The band is a trio from Glasgow and their catchy opening number "The Modern Leper" sounds like a rough version of something you might hear from O.A.R.. The lyrics are all fairly dark but not so much as to turn someone away the first time through.

Tracks to stay tuned in for: The Modern Leper, I Feel Better, Keep Yourself Warm.

Like what you hear? Please feel free to leave a comment or drop us a line at